Dear Rachel,

Look at you! Graduating from Parsons! Honey I am so proud of you! I know all the hard work you’ve done and I am so proud! You set your mind to doing this and you did it.

I always loved your decisive spirit. Going shopping with you was always so much fun because even as a child you knew exactly what you wanted once you saw it and were determined enough to find a way to get it. You wanted to go to Parsons and you did! All because you decided to go and you jumped through all the hoops to make it happen! New York is lucky to have you and you are going to soar at Express. I couldn’t be prouder.

I know you miss me. I know you are sad at times. I know you wish I could be there at your graduation taking annoying amounts of pictures and wondering where I could get a baked potato and some unsweetened tea for dinner. I know we can’t email like we used to. I know.

I also know your heart. Your amazingly huge heart and your ability to love wholeheartedly the people in your life. Rachel you are my sweet sweet, always sharing, always thinking of others daughter.  There’s not a selfish bone in your body (it all went to Susanna😀). Even as a child you’d get a pack of gum and the first thing you’d do was offer a piece to everyone and then take the last one for yourself. My sweet, selfless Rachel.

Your qualities have served you well. I raised you right. What wasn’t taught by me and dad you were blessed to have just by being ‘you’. I’m so so glad I decided to have a fourth baby! You completed our family Rachel Woods and you bring nothing but joy, happiness, and excitement wherever you go. You were always an encouragement to me even when you didn’t realize it. Thank you for your daily emails and for always checking in with me. I cherish those memories. 

I love you so much Rachel and I’m so proud of you! Happy birthday and happy graduation! You have the world ahead of you and your possibilities are endless. I’m so proud to be your momma…both in Heaven and on Earth. While you may not see me and be able to give me one of your rib cracking hugs every day, just remember this:

I’m the very fast flying roach you see when you flip the light switch on in the middle of the night, I’m the cardigan on the beautiful lady when it’s 90 degrees outside, I’m the sale at Talbots, I’m the Clinique lipgloss, I’m the St. Tropez self tanning towels, I’m the Mac that freezes up, I’m the printer out of ink, I’m the CELL phone, the vacuum cleaner that runs before 7:00am, that stupid Susie Wong movie, the glass of unsweetened iced tea, a bag of M&M’s, anybody 5 feet short and under, Siamese cats, Converse sneakers, Mary Kay makeup, a full cart at Target, a new Honda Civic, red hair, White Musk perfume, Pantene hairspray, a breath of fresh air, I’m the moon and you will forever be my sunshine….my only sunshine…you make me happy when skies are gray…you’ll never know dear how much I love you so please don’t take my sunshine away.

I love you Rachel. ❤, Mom

Leave a Reply

